Twin Gear

Twin Strollers for Newborns: What Works From Birth

Twin Strollers for Newborns: What Works From Birth

A twin stroller works for newborns in one of two ways. Either both babies ride in their infant car seats, clicked onto a frame or onto a full stroller with two adapters, or both babies lie flat, in two bassinets or two fully reclining seats. Plenty of doubles can do one of those for one baby. Far fewer can do it for two babies at the same time, and that is the only question that matters before your twins can sit. If you are buying for the months after that, the best twin stroller roundup is the page you want.

Every spec below comes from the manufacturer’s own page, loaded on 3 October 2026. Adapter lists change between model years, so check your exact model and seat before you pay.

The three ways a double works from birth

  • A car-seat frame. A light chassis with no seats of its own; both infant seats click on. It works from day one and ends the day your twins leave their infant seats.
  • A full double plus two car-seat adapters. The stroller lasts for years, but many doubles take one car seat, not two, and each adapter fits only certain seat brands.
  • Two bassinets, or two seats that recline flat. The most comfortable option for a long walk and the most expensive. It is also where a few products quietly break the safe-sleep rules, covered further down.

Newborn twin strollers compared

What each one does for two newborns at once, according to its maker:

StrollerTwo infant car seats at once?Two flat newborn spaces at once?Newborn-mode limit the maker publishes
Joovy Twin Roo+Yes, it is a frameNo35 lb per child, 70 lb total
Baby Trend Snap-N-Go DoubleYes, it is a frameNo80 lb total
Bugaboo Donkey 6 TwinYes, with twin adaptersYes, two bassinets in the boxBassinet flat to 9 kg (20 lb)
UPPAbaby Vista V3Yes, two Mesa or Aria seats with adaptersYes, Bassinet + BassinetBassinet to 20 lb or hands-and-knees push-up
Mountain Buggy DuetYes, with two adaptorsYes, both seats recline flatAdaptor 13 kg (28 lb)
Contours Options Elite V2Yes, with two adaptersNoPer adapter and seat
Zoe Twin v³No, one car seat at a timeNear-flat, 155° recline plus cocoons60 lb per seat
Thule Urban Glide 3 DoubleNot stated for twoNot stated for twoCar-seat adapter to 9 kg

The last two rows matter as much as the first six. Both of those are good strollers, and both are commonly described as “from birth”. For twins, though, that phrase has to mean “for both babies at once”, and their own pages do not promise it.

Model by model, the newborn details

Joovy Twin Roo+ (frame)

Joovy lists the Twin Roo+ at 24.4 lb and 26 inches wide. It is rated from newborn to 70 lb in total and 35 lb per child, and it works with 23 car seat models. The car seats can face either side. It folds flat to 10.25 inches high. The adapters are brand-specific, so the Amazon listing you buy decides which seats it takes. This Twin Roo+ listing comes with the Graco adapter, and this Twin Roo+ listing comes with Chicco adapters. Joovy publishes the full list as a compatibility chart. Pick the seats first, then buy the listing that matches them.

Baby Trend Snap-N-Go Double (frame)

Baby Trend publishes an 80 lb maximum and a named compatibility list. As I loaded it on 3 October, the list shows every seat as fitting “front & rear seat”: Baby Trend’s own Secure-Lift, EZ-Lift and Flex-Loc lines, the Ally 35, the Chicco KeyFit 30, the Peg Perego Primo Viaggio 4-35, the UPPAbaby MESA, the Evenflo LiteMax 30 and the Safety 1st onBoard LT. Two details on that page will catch people. First, Baby Trend says its MESA fit was “verified with the original MESA. The MESA 2 and MESA V3 have not been tested for compatibility.” Second, it is the KeyFit 30 that is listed, not the newer KeyFit 35. If your seats are not named on the list, assume they do not fit. The Snap-N-Go Double on Amazon is the plainest, cheapest way through the car-seat months.

Bugaboo Donkey 6 Twin (two bassinets included)

Bugaboo’s US product page for the Donkey 5 Twin, which most older reviews still recommend, showed it as “no longer available” on 3 October 2026, and the same site now sells the Donkey 6 Twin. Both bassinets and both seats come in the box. Bugaboo lists it at 29.1 inches wide and 44.4 lb with the two bassinets on (39.8 lb with seats). It states plainly that the bassinet gives “a flat sleeping space until they reach 9 kg (20 lbs)”. The seats take over “from around 6 months onwards”, up to 22 kg (50 lb).

For car seats you need the separate Donkey 6 twin car seat adapters, which include two sets. The compatible list is short: the Bugaboo Turtle Air models by Nuna, four Maxi-Cosi seats (Coral XP, Mico 30, Mico Luxe+, Mico XP Max) and seven Nuna Pipa variants. No Chicco and no Graco seat is on it.

UPPAbaby Vista V3 (convertible single-to-double)

UPPAbaby names both twin setups on its own Vista double-conversion guide: “Two Mesa or Aria Infant Car Seats (twins!)” and “Bassinet + Bassinet (twins!)”. The same guide says the lower adapters “secure the second Infant Car Seat or Bassinet in the lower position” and the upper adapters raise the top seat, so one twin rides lower than the other. The Bassinet V3 is rated “from birth to 20 lbs or until infant can push up on hands and knees, whichever comes first”. The Mesa V3 seat runs from 4 lb to 30 lb and up to 32 inches, and it clicks straight onto the Vista frame without adapters.

Mountain Buggy Duet (lie-flat seats from birth)

The Duet’s two sling seats each recline fully flat. Mountain Buggy gives the reclined seat as 76 by 29 cm and the age range as newborn to 4 years. That makes it the one stroller here where both newborns can lie flat with no extra purchase. For car seats, the universal car seat adaptor “can be used in twin mode on all versions of duet™ (requires two adaptors)”. It lists the Mountain Buggy Protect, Maxi-Cosi Cabriofix, Pebble Plus and Mico, Peg Perego 4-35, Cybex Aton, Aton 2 and Aton Q, Chicco KeyFit 30, Nuna Pipa, and Graco SnugRide 22, SnugRide 35 and SnugRide Click Connect 35. The adaptor has a weight limit of 13 kg (28 lb). The Duet on Amazon is the black V3.

Contours Options Elite V2 (tandem)

Contours’ Chicco V2 adapter page says it is designed for the Chicco KeyFit 30 and Fit2 and works on the Options Elite V2. It also says “if you have twins, you can purchase a second adapter to attach two car seats”. There is a matching Britax V2 adapter. The stroller’s own seats are not a newborn bassinet, so this is a two-car-seat tandem for the early months and a regular tandem after that.

Zoe Twin v³ and Thule Urban Glide 3 Double

Zoe’s page is clear that the Twin v³ “can hold one car seat adapter at a time”. It makes both seats newborn-compatible instead, using the included Infant Cocoons and a 155° recline. That is near-flat, not flat.

Thule says the Urban Glide 3 Double “can be used from birth with Thule bassinet or infant car seat adapter”. Its bassinet adapter page, though, sells it as a setup “for two kids”, with the bumper bar and snack tray for an older sibling. The car seat adapter is “approved up to 9 kgs (child weight)”. None of the pages I loaded describes two bassinets or two car seats at once. Ask Thule to confirm a twin setup in writing before you buy it for that.

The car-seat adapter question

The most expensive newborn-stroller mistake is buying the stroller and the seats as two separate decisions. On the lists above, the same seat can be in or out depending on the stroller:

  • The Chicco KeyFit 30 is on the Baby Trend, Mountain Buggy and Contours lists; the KeyFit 35 is not. Joovy’s current Twin Roo+ chart does list the KeyFit 35 with the Chicco adapter, and Bugaboo’s twin list names no Chicco seat at all. A 30 and a 35 are not interchangeable on paper, and paper is what the warranty reads.
  • The UPPAbaby MESA fits the Baby Trend frame only in its original version, by Baby Trend’s own note, and fits the Vista directly.
  • The adapter often caps out before the seat does. The Chicco KeyFit 35 is rated for babies from 4 to 35 lb, but Mountain Buggy’s adaptor stops at 28 lb and Thule’s at 9 kg (about 20 lb). Joovy’s frame is rated to 35 lb per child. Whichever limit is lowest ends your travel-system months.
  • Count the adapters, not just the brand. Zoe takes one car seat. Mountain Buggy needs two adaptors. Contours sells them one at a time. Bugaboo’s twin set includes two.

The order that works: choose the stroller you want for the newborn months, read its car-seat list, and then buy two identical seats from that list. The same reasoning is behind buying matching seats in the twin registry checklist.

Birth weight and small twins

Twins often arrive small, so the bottom of the weight range matters more than the top. The two infant seats I checked both start at 4 lb. The UPPAbaby Mesa V3 is rated from 4 lb and includes an infant insert “for infants weighing as little as 4 lbs”. The Chicco KeyFit 35 is rated “for infants between 4-35 lbs” and has a newborn positioner for babies of 4 to 11 lb. Use the inserts exactly as the maker says, and add nothing that did not come with the seat.

The AAP’s car seat guidance for families says a seat “should be approved for a baby’s weight”. It adds that very small babies usually fit better in rear-facing-only seats. Babies born preterm should be screened in the hospital “to make sure they can sit safely in a semi-reclined position”. Babies who need to lie flat may ride in a car bed that meets federal standard 213. If one of your twins is in the NICU or comes home on a different day, ask the team whether a car-seat screening is planned before you finalize the stroller. A frame-only plan does not work for a baby who has to travel flat.

Stroller bassinets have limits of their own: Bugaboo’s is flat to 20 lb, UPPAbaby’s goes to 20 lb or the first push-up on hands and knees, and Thule rates its bassinet for 0-6 months.

How long a newborn can stay in a car seat on a stroller

No source I loaded gives a minute count for stroller use. What the AAP says is more useful than a number:

  • On travel systems specifically, the AAP’s rear-facing-only car seat page says “brief periods in a car seat are not a problem”. It warns that “sitting at an angle can affect infant breathing, especially for younger newborns, and especially for preemies”, and that “it is actually better for younger infants to lie flat”.
  • If a baby falls asleep in the seat, the AAP recommends “transferring him out of the seat when you reach your destination”. If you cannot do that, “it is important for an adult to keep a close and constant eye on the infant.”
  • The AAP’s general car-seat page goes further for rear-facing-only seats: they “should be used only for a child’s travel (not sleeping, feeding or any other use outside the vehicle)”.
  • For actual drives, the AAP’s long car ride advice suggests a break “every 2 to 3 hours for a day trip”. That is a driving figure, not permission for a three-hour mall loop.

So use the frame for transfers: car to pharmacy, car to appointment, car back home. For a long walk, a bassinet or a flat seat is the better choice for a newborn, and that is the honest case for paying for one. The packing order for getting two seats out the door is in how to leave the house with twins.

One product to skip as a sleep space. Mountain Buggy sells a twin carrycot in which both babies “lie close together in one shared” space, with an inclined mode for reflux. Its page also says it “eliminates the need to move twins to a separate bassinet when sleeping”. The AAP advises against bed sharing “under any circumstances, including with twins and other multiples”, and says “any surface that inclines more than 10 degrees isn’t safe for your baby to sleep on” (AAP safe sleep guide). Twins asleep on a walk still go to their own flat surfaces at home. The full rules are in safe sleep for twins.

What changes when they outgrow the bassinets

The newborn setup ends at different points, and each ending leaves you with a different stroller:

  • Frame strollers end completely. When the car seats come off, a Twin Roo+ or Snap-N-Go has nothing left to carry. It becomes a resale item; it was the cheap part of the plan.
  • Bassinet doubles change into seat strollers. On the Donkey 6 the bassinets give way to seats “from around 6 months”. On the Vista V3 the toddler seat is rated from 3 months, or from birth with the SnugSeat or bassinet. The width you measured for stays the same, but the weight usually drops when the bassinets come off.
  • Lie-flat-seat doubles just sit up. On the Duet and the Zoe nothing gets swapped out. The seats recline less as the babies grow, which is why those two cost the least over a whole stroller life.
  • The infant seats may outlast the frame, or the other way round. The AAP notes that heavy infant seats can be swapped for a convertible seat that stays installed in the car. After that, you lift a baby, not a carrier, and any stroller with seats will do.

Once both twins sit in stroller seats, width, fold and push quality decide the purchase, and that comparison is in the roundup linked at the top.

FAQ: newborn twin strollers

Can newborn twins share one stroller bassinet?

Not as a sleep space. The AAP’s guidance keeps each baby on their own flat surface: two bassinets or two flat seats.

Do I need a bassinet stroller for twins?

No. A car-seat frame covers the newborn months for transfers and short trips. A bassinet or flat-seat double earns its cost if you walk a lot with very young babies, or a NICU team advised flat travel.

Can any double stroller take two infant car seats?

No. Some take only one, like Zoe’s Twin v³; others need two separately bought adapters. Check the maker’s list for your exact seat and version.